The Crazy Locomotive

BY: Stanislaw I. Witkiewicz
DIRECTED BY: Beata Pilch

Chicago Run: September 2005
New York Run:
August 2005
Romanian Run:
May 2007


Beata and Carl

The New York International Fringe Festival– FringeNYC
A Production of The Present Company

“It’s a buffoonish, perverse, assaultive, and exhilirating ride, just the kind Witkiewicz must have envisioned.”
-Chicago Reader


“Witkiewicz nicely unplugged…few American theaters are willing to risk doing his work…it seems like Trap Door only has the guts.”
-The Chicago Tribune

Chicago/NY Cast: John Gray, John Kahara, Beata Pilch, Carolyn Shoemaker, Nicole Wiesner and Carl Wisniewski

Romania Cast:John Gray, Noah Durham, Beata Pilch, Kim McKean, Greg Beam

The Crazy Locomotive is a multi-media superparody– of the worship of the machine and of the new arts of technology: futurism and cinema.

A band of degenerate criminals and artists commandeer an engine and seek to bring about God’s judgment by racing at apocalyptic speeds into an oncoming passenger train.

This is your brain on Witkiewicz.

About the Playwright:
Stanislaw I. Witkiewicz is one the most brilliant figures of the European avant-garde, Witkiewicz was a poet, painter, playwright, an expert on drugs, an early spokesman for a radically non-realistic theatre and an original philosopher and social critic of mass culture, post-industrial society, and the rise of totalitarianism. He was also a pioneer in serious experimentation with narcotics and prophetically recognized the growing importance that they would have on Western civilization. Politics, revolution, and even art were similar “drugs.” Witkiewicz committed suicide shortly after the outbreak of War in September of 1939. He is best known for his plays The Madman and the Nun, The Mother, The Water Hen, The Anonymous Work, and The Shoemaker.


The Trap Door Thearte
1655 West Cortland Ave.


The Theater at the Center for Architecture
536 LaGuardia Place, NYC 10012
For NY TIX: 1-888-FringeNYC or

Assistant Director: Andrew Krukowski
Set Design: Ewelina Dobiesz
Lighting Design: Richard Norwood
Sound Design: Anna Czerwinski
Film Design: Carrie Holt de Lama
Costume Design: Beata Pilch

Congratulations Jeff Awards Nominees 2017: Rachel Sypniewski,
Victor Quezada-Perez
and "ARTURO UI Ensemble"

Trap Door welcomes
Associate Ensemble members:

Adam Huizenga
Sami Ismat
David Kaplinsky
Vic Kuligoski
Eddie Lynch
Josh Pennington
Christopher Prchal
Alex Stien
Alexander Trice
Nora Lise Ulrey
Kristin Davis*
(*Resident Stage Manager)


Congratulations to our amazing Danny Rockett for recent Joseph Jefferson Award - Original Music in a Play for "How to Explain the History of Communism to Mental Patients"
Time Out Chicago recognizes Trap Door as one of the best storefront theatres in the city!

Email Mailing List